Home       What's New?       Corporate       Business       Published Information       Ministers       Related Websites

Assistant Treasurer Media Release No. 020 of 2008 - Australia-South Africa Tax Treaty


Tuesday, 1 April 2008

Content ID:



The Governments of Australia and South Africa have signed a Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income. The new Protocol revises the tax treaty between the two countries which was signed in 1999.

The Protocol was signed by Australia's High Commissioner in South Africa, H.E. Mr Philip Green AOM and the acting Minister of Finance in South Africa, the Hon Ms Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi in South Africa.

Further information on the signing of the tax treaty is also available in the Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs, the Hon Chris Bowen MP's Media Release No. 20 of 2008.

Documents Available:

Acrobat (PDF) documents

 Acrobat (PDF)

Australia-South Africa Tax Treaty   90.15kb

Microsoft Word (RTF) documents

 Microsoft Word (RTF)

Australia-South Africa Tax Treaty   236.52kb

Related Items:

There are no related items available for content item 1364.

Treasury Portfolio Ministers - Link to website MoreSuper  - Link to website Carbon Price Modelling - Link to Website Clean Energy Future  - Link to website Review of compensation arrangements for consumers of financial services - Consultation Paper  - Link to website